Rubrails

Another big task completed – all three of the mahogany strips are now curved around and attached to the boat.  I have not heard of anyone else having problems with this, but I had wood from 2 different lumber yards and both had problems with splitting towards the bow.  Anyone else?  I tried thinning them down a bit to .7″, which helped considerably, but still got some cracks, even when pushing just a few inches away from the next screw hole.   No worries though, since the rail is not a needed structural member, I have been just been filling in the cracks with epoxy and moving on.  Now that it is all sanded, you have to look close to see any cracks.


Cutting a hole for the bowsprint.

And there we have it.

In total I have clocked in around 640 hours, with a lot of work still to go.  Sure, I have added a bunch of electronics and other stuff, but have definitely exceeded the 525 hours listed as a guide on the CLC pocketship website.  It has been a great project, don’t get me wrong, but if you have a full time job and busy with life outside of work, you better have a lot of patience ’cause it’s going to take a while.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Rubrails

  1. James Vitale says:

    Lookin’ good Sean. I finally received my kit; will start in a week or so. Excited. Regards,
    Jim Vitale

Leave a comment